Circles of Wisdom

In different times and different ways, the quality of my life has been enhanced by the circles within which I have found myself.

Intention creates a circle that adds to and enriches life. An intentional circle comes together to make a difference in its members and in the wide world.

“The circle is a universal symbol for unity and wholeness and the form of meeting in circle is ancient. Each of us has ancestors, no matter what our ethnic or racial background, who sat around a fire together, drumming, singing, playing, dancing, telling stories, praying, grieving together, and solving the problems of everyday life. The memory of this connection to the circle is in our bodies, in our psyches.” 

 

Albert Schweitzer said, “Until he extends his circle of compassion to include all living things, man will not himself find peace.” Intentional circles extend the power of their individuals, becoming more powerful as a group than as individuals.  

There have been many empowering circles in my life

  • In the 80’s I was in a circle of adults exploring our personal spirituality through meditation and discussion
  • In the early 90’s it was a small men’s group reading self-help books and helping each other define and reach toward our hopes and dreams
  • When my kids were growing up the “Old Dog Patrol” and the Pack/Troop leadership councils gave me a place to teach young men important skills, to live the outdoors life, and to enjoy the company of other parents.

Today there are important new circles influencing my life, pushing me to be a better person. Natural High’s blog on the Network of Spiritual Progressives led me to a circle that “includes all those whose deepest values lead them to challenge the ethos of selfishness and materialism that has led people into a frantic search for money and power and away from a life that places love, kindness, generosity, peace, non-violence, social justice, awe, and wonder at the grandeur of creation, thanksgiving, humility, and joy at the center of our lives.” These are powerful concepts to which I can dedicate my time and energy.

Circles can be interconnected by their membership or their intention. I have recently joined a group “committed to co-creating a sustainable future for the earth and all of life, beginning first with an awareness of the interconnection of all things.” Naturally, some of these same people are part of the local NSP circle. 

 My newest, most important circle is my family. Symbolically, our marriage began with our friends and family joining hands in a circle to ring us with their love and hope. I know my efforts to build a better place in the world must begin and end every day at home, within the circle of my family. 

“When our eyes see our hands doing the work of our hearts, the circle of Creation is completed inside us” – Michael Bridge 

Being a part of these circles brings friendship, love, sharing, mindfulness, and purpose. The circles throughout my life raise me up spiritually and help create my inner peace. 

I am truly grateful! 

What are the circles that surround you with purpose and intent? 

How do the circles within which you live influence your life? 

Peace and Light; 

IN2L

~ by in2l on December 1, 2006.

8 Responses to “Circles of Wisdom”

  1. This is very poignant! I think of my own circles of family, friends, various activist groups and how the energy there buoys me like wind beneath my wings. Love your blog here. You might want to consider posting more often!

  2. Based on your blog, you must have a lot of wind beneath your wings!

    I am trying to spend more time writing, I have been enjoying the results.

  3. yes this is very true and beautiful article. If our intentions arise in a field of consciousness our own ability to stay in caopmassion and peace is supported.

  4. While surfing on the symbolism of the circle, I stumble on your first quote in this article. How true that the intention of the circle creates strength for everyone! Thanks for sharing, lovely pictures.

    Thank you. I find things like my circle of friends and family brings me the greatest strength. I will check back on your blog if you are writing on the symbolism of the circle.

  5. The circle of life

    round, originally uploaded by radiant woman.
    The circle is eternal. Where is the beginning ? Or the end. You can choose the beginning anywhere.

    Why does the circle have such strong symbolism? To make a long answer short, it just does. When you se…

  6. Работа, вакансии, резюме – работа в твоем городе. Тысячи свежих резюме, сотни актуальных вакансий ждут тебя. owork.jlt.ru – поиск работы в твоем городе!

  7. - , , , , , , , ,

  8. Install ZEUS Bot FREE – hack bank acc. http://www.cyberlocos.net Ver foro – Malwares – Troyanos – Crimewarez – Botnets

Leave a Reply

 
